Pixies to Release First Album in 23 Years

artist: Pixies date: 03/25/2014 category: new releases
I like this
votes: 23
views: 6,539
Pixies to Release First Album in 23 Years
Pixies have announced details of "Indie Cindy," their first new album in 23 years.

AsĀ NME reports, the album will be released on April 28 and comprises of the EPs, "EP1" and "EP2," released in September 2013 and January 2014 respectively, plus "EP3." "Indie Cindy" marks the first time all three releases have been available as one collection.

On April 19, a week before the official release date and exclusively for Record Store Day, Pixies will make "Indie Cindy" available as a special limited edition, two-disc, deluxe gatefold, 180-gram vinyl set, only available from independent record stores participating in the event around the world.

"We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago," says Pixies drummer David Lovering. "New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn't continue to go out and tour without anything new. So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we're all very happy with the way everything worked out."

Pixies latest album, "Trompe Le Monde," was released in 1991. Producer Gil Norton, who produced that album as well as "Doolittle" and "Bossanova," has produced "Indie Cindy" with all of the songs recorded at Rockfield Studios, Wales in October 2012.

Pixies - which currently consist of Francis, Joey Santiago, David Lovering, and touring bassist Paz Lenchantin - have recently finished up the North American leg of their 2013-2014 world tour. The band heads to South America before a string of festival dates this summer, including a headline slot at Manchester's Summer In The City and London's Field Day.

"Indie Cindy" tracklist:

01. What Goes Boom
02. Greens and Blues
03. Indie Cindy
04. Bagboy
05. Magdalena 318
06. Silver Snail
07. Blue Eyed Hexe
08. Ring the Bell
09. Another Toe in the Ocean
10. Andro Queen
11. Snakes
12. Jaime Bravo
Submit your story new
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear