Queen Detail 1974 DVDs

"Live at the Rainbow" includes show from their first headlining tour.

Ultimate Guitar

Two Queen concerts from 1974 are to be released on DVD in September, it's been confirmed, Classic Rock reports.

The first show, on March 31, took place in London's Rainbow Theatre during Freddie Mercury and co's first-ever headlining tour, soon after they'd turned heads as a support act for Mott the Hoople. The second show was recorded in November the same year, at the same venue.

Roy Thomas Baker, who produced Queen's first four albums, created the March recording with the intention of released them as live albums – but the band were in such a creative space that they decided to keep going with new music. The result was "Sheer Heart Attack," which scored them their first number one hit, "Killer Queen." Their London show in November was recorded for a TV broadcast.

"Live at the Rainbow 74" will be available in a deluxe box set containing replica tour itinerary, tour programme, ticket, button badges, poster and pass, plus a 60-page hardback book.

Brian May and Roger Taylor are gearing up to tour the US with Adam Lambert, who they recently said was a better match for their music than Paul Rodgers had been. May also hinted it could be their last time on the road.

"Live at the Rainbow" tracklist is:

Disc 1: Queen II tour, March 1974

01. Procession
02. Father to Son
03. Ogre Battle
04. Son and Daughter
05. Guitar solo
06. Son and Daughter (Reprise)
07. White Queen (As It Began)
08. Great King Rat
09. The Fairy Feller's Master-Stroke
10. Keep Yourself Alive
11. Drum solo
12. Keep Yourself Alive (Reprise)
13. Seven Seas of Rhye
14. Modern Times Rock 'n' Roll
15. Jailhouse Rock (Medley)
16. Stupid Cupid (Medley)
17. Be Bop a Lula (Medley)
18. Liar
19. See What a Fool I've Been

Disc 2: "Sheer Heart Attack" tour, November 1974

01. Procession
02. Now I'm Here
03. Ogre Battle
04. Father to Son
05. White Queen (As It Began)
06. Flick of the Wrist
07. In the Lap of the Gods
08. Killer Queen
09. The March of the Black Queen
10. Bring Back That Leroy Brown
11. Son and Daughter
12. Guitar solo
13. Son And Daughter (Reprise)
14. Keep Yourself Alive
15. Drum solo
16. Keep Yourself Alive (Reprise)
17. Seven Seas of Rhye
18. Stone Cold Crazy
19. Liar
20. In the Lap of the Gods Revisited
21. Big Spender
22. Modern Times Rock 'n' Roll23. Jailhouse Rock24. God Save the Queen

Trending stories

10 comments sorted by best / new / date

    That's a great opportunity to see how the setlist and stage show evolved between two consecutive tours
    Superb setlists, 70's Queen is so unique and epic. My favorite band
    Saw Queen in '77 but always dreamed of seeing the Queen II tour...looks like I got my wish!
    Killer Queen was not their first number one hit. Other than that, i would like to have these dvds. yes
    Nice! I've got a few concert DVDs of 80's shows by them. Good stuff, but watch bootlegs from '74 or '75, and tell me they didn't rock harder. Can't wait for this!
    I always thought the unreleased track Hangman was included in the March 74 set. Obviously wrong.