Sepultura Unveil New Album Cover and Track Listing

Brazilian thrash masters present additional details of upcoming record, due out on October 25.

Ultimate Guitar

Brazilian thrash masters Sepultura have officially presented the cover artwork and track listing of their upcoming record "The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must be the Heart."

According to Diariodepernambuco blog, the cover features work of charcoal drawing specialist Alexandre Wagner, while the album itself is due out on October 25 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

Track listing was also unveiled, confirming that the record will consist of 10 songs, as well as two bonus tunes, including a Death cover "Zombie Ritual."

"So before we went to the United States, to record the album, I was at [Wagner's] house to talk about the cover, tell him the album title, talk about the concept of the film 'Metropolis,' so he could do something original," said guitarist Andreas Kisser. "But when I saw the picture with the drawing, I thought it was all about what we wanted and we did not need something new."

Kisser previously explained the story of lengthy album title, noting it comes as a quote from classic 1927 movie "Metropolis," often considered as the sci-fi genre's forefather. "Considering the technology they had in the '20, this movie is a miracle, it's an amazing achievement of special effects," he said.

"The Mediator Between Head and Hands Must Be the Heart" track listing:

01. Trauma of War 02. The Vatican 03. Impending Doom 04. Manipulation of Tragedy 05. Tsunami 06. The Bliss of Ignorants 07. Grief 08. The Age of the Atheist 09. Obsessed 10. Da Lama ao Caos (Chico Science & Nacao Zumbi cover)


11. Stagnate State of Affairs 12. Zombie Ritual (Death cover)

11 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I love seeing the cover, but I hate when bands reveals tracklisting. I mean it's kinda pointless knowing song titles...
    I guess it's there for fans to imagine how the song may sound in their heads in terms of maybe the mood/atmosphere that the title alone suggests. It's hard to explain. It's better when song lengths are revealed to because sometimes it can hint to the direction the band are taking e.g. shorter/longer songs than usual.
    Sepultura's albums always have great cover art. This isn't their best but it's still cool.
    Damn, that is actually badass looking cover. And also comes with Death cover song! Consider me interested. The album title still sucks though. Add some egyptian mumbojumbo between the words and it would sound like a song from Nile.