The Melvins' Buzz Osborne Announces Debut Solo Album, 'This Machine Kills Artists'

artist: Melvins date: 03/19/2014 category: upcoming releases

Sign up to get weekly digest with top stories from UG. Ads free, only news.

Thanks for subscribing! Check your email soon for some great stories from UG

I like this
votes: 8
views: 1,824
The Melvins' Buzz Osborne Announces Debut Solo Album, 'This Machine Kills Artists'
Buzz Osborne, the Melvins frontman for 30 years, will release his first ever solo album, "This Machine Kills Artists," on June 3rd, via Ipeac Recordings.

The album is all-acoustic. "I have no interest in sounding like a crappy version of James Taylor or a half-a-sed version of Woody Guthrie," Buzz said in a press release, continuing, "which is what happens when almost every rock and roller straps on an acoustic guitar. No thanks ... 'This Machine Kills Artists' is a different kind of animal."

Here's the opening track, brooding acoustic number called "Dark Brown Teeth." Listen below.

"This Machine Kills Artists" Tracklist:

01. Dark Brown Teeth
02. Rough Democracy
03. Laid Back Walking
04. Drunken Baby
05. Vaulting Over a Microphone
06. New River
07. The Vulgar Joke
08. Everything's Easy for You
09. The Ripping Driving
10. How I Became Offensive
11. Instrument of God
12. The Spoiled Brat
13. Illegal Mona
14. Good and Hostile
15. The Blithering Idiot
16. Useless King of the Punks
17. The Hesitation Twist

Submit your story new
More Melvins news:
+ Buzz Osbourne Singles Out Pete Townshend for Acoustic Rock God Status General Music News 08/15/2014
+ The Melvins to Release 'Hold It in' in October General Music News 08/01/2014
+ Melvins Frontman: 'Most Rock Stars Are Whore-Mongering Drug Addicts, Why Listen to Them About Political Issues?' General Music News 07/28/2014
+ Melvins Frontman Not Fan of Dave Grohl, Calls Them Crooked Vultures a 'Pop Band' General Music News 03/28/2014
+ Melvins Frontman: 'Nirvana's Biggest Hits Are Structurally Same as Hair Metal Hits' General Music News 03/14/2014
+ Melvins Frontman Explains Why Metallica 'Blew It' General Music News 01/08/2014
+ view all
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear