King Crimson Announce Comeback and New Lineup

artist: King Crimson date: 09/25/2013 category: wtf?
I like this
votes: 55
views: 14,575
King Crimson Announce Comeback and New Lineup
After a four-year hiatus, prog rock legends King Crimson are once again back on track with their eighth incarnation. Guitar mastermind Robert Fripp announced the big news in his latest diary entry, noting that the Crims will now perform as a seven-piece. Specifically, the lineup will consist of Porcupine Tree drummer Gavin Harrison, second drummer Bill Rieflin of R.E.M, virtuoso bassist Tony Levin, third drummer Pat Mastelotto, Mel Collins on saxophone, multi-instrumentalist Jakko Jakszyk and Fripp himself handling the axe. "This is a very different reformation to what has gone before: seven players, four English and three American, with three drummers. The Seven-Headed Beast of Crim is in Go! mode," Fripp noted. The guitarist also stated that due to previous obligations of individual band members, King Crimson will only be able to perform in about a year. "All the Crims have expressed great excitement at the return to Go! mode," Fripp explains. "Given the considerable commitments of all members, it will take a year before Crimson is able to perform." He continued, "Bill Rieflin mentioned to me that he told Jacknife Lee (REM and Robbie Williams' producer) of the triple drumming, and Jacknife's reply: Of course. We know what two drummers sound like! I'm hoping we'll find out, and have a pile of fun doing so." The axeman concluded on optimistic note, "Dear brother Crims, we have one year to prepare for action of the savage variety, and be in Go! mode for September 2014 ... but essentially, King Crimson is in motion." Whether or not will the band possibly hit the studio yet remains unknown. The latest KC studio effort, "The Power to Believe," saw its release in February 2003 through Sanctuary Records.
Submit your story new
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear