Bitterness The Star review by 36 Crazyfists

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 4, 2002
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.8 (14 votes)
36 Crazyfists: Bitterness The Star

Sound — 10
As soon as you turn it on, the first thing you hear is a strong riff. And this album is full of them. Sometimes it sounds as if the mixing process wasn't very good, but no-one cares. The riffs are excellent. Loud, fast and aggressive. In the verses they use a loud of palm muted so they can have vocals on top, or they just have vocals over great riffs. They really try to orginate this entire album to riffs. It's not a bad thing either. However, they didn't mix up this album very well and the outcome means the sound quality isn't as good as you want it to be. But get over it and the music will carry you away. It's quite unique, taking the best bits of metal and emo and fitting them together.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are pretty good and sometimes are just pissed off and annoyed lyrics. For exampled "Bury me where i fall; push and pull like sex machines" etc. They are well written but sometimes doesn't go with the music very well. However, Brock Lindow as a great voice and very unique vocals. He can't shout very well, but the backup vocals howling sounds great.

Overall Impression — 10
It takes awhile to take a liking of but afterwards it's just a album which you just can't remove from your stero. If you want a taster, I recommoned downloading "Agreement Called Forever" and "Turns To Ashes". Personally, this is my favourite 36 Crazyfists album.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date