Poison Of Ages review by 8 Foot Sativa

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 21, 2007
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
8 Foot Sativa: Poison Of Ages

Sound — 9
The band has come along way scince their first album Hate Made Me and delve a lot deeper into the darker and heavier music than previously explored. This album features Ben Read from the band Ulcerate, his vocal work is simillar to that of Justin "Jackhammer" Niessen from previous albums. Poison Of Ages is by far their heaviest album to date with more of a death metal approach to the songs this time around. The album was delayed for release as there was a breach in the contract and the band had to come up with $20,000NZ, Ben also stated that the album hadn't been mastered at that stage as they hadn't paid the person to do it because someone had breached the contract. This album explores more of the guitar solo which has previously been hardly touched upon by the band in previous albums.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics stick to generally traditional 8 Foot themes of very blunt and somewhat offensive to the sensive type but make for really good songs that address certain topics in a very upfront manor. The tracks, both vocal and instrumental fit together very well but there feels like the odd section where it doesn't "fall into place" as nicely as previous tracks and others on the album. Bens abillities as a vocalist are really quite amazing as he brings back the vocal sound that Justin had started for the band years before hand, he really commands the song with his scream and is very audible at the same time.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is hard to define against other albums because of the sound of the tracks featured. It can be somewhat compared to snippits of Heaven Shall Burn but it is still a very difficult album and band to make comparisons with and against existing material. I love the fact that they explore more into the area of a true guitar solo throughout this album and have a heavier sound than previous works but it is a shame there aren't more songs on the album to enjoy. I'd definately buy this album again because it is a very good album in its own respects and enjoyable to listen to.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    one of new zealands better bands. good to see them getting somewhere finally