Hi-Fi Serious review by A

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 2, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (7 votes)
A: Hi-Fi Serious

Sound — 8
A are a British rock band, probably not too well known in the States. Their sound is a mix between nu-metal, punk and straight modern rock, creating a varied blend of loud and soft, fast and slow. There is nothing astonishingly different about them, but it would, that said, be hard to fault this album for it's quality of sound. The quiet tracks like "The Springs" are just as good as the simple, yet devastating opener "Nothing". Then, of course, there's the customary 6 minute long, rock-n-roll closing track, "Hi-Fi Serious", which sees the noise levels dropping considerably before doubling it's initial volume. It's not entirely original, nor is it groundbreaking, but it's certainly worth a listen.

Lyrics — 8
In Jason Perry, A have a decent vocalist, whose voice is capable of both singing and light screaming, and doesn't vary too much in live performances either, which is a bonus. The lyrics themselves, however, do have a tendency to be a bit weak, but are not so bad as to mark them down to "average". The themes vary, from working in a coffee shop to being a rock star - not too serious, and easy to relate to.

Overall Impression — 8
As said earlier, it's nothing outstanding, but it's certainly a good, solid album. In the UK, the single "Nothing" remains their defining song - the song that got them noticed. It's the first track on the album and really sets things off with a bang. Overall, it's something I would definitely consider buying again, and shows the wealth of British talent in existence right now. What's more is there's room for improvement, so A could soon be producing even better material. Stanout tracks are "Nothing", "Something's Going On", "Going Down" (a controversial song about a plane crash - the album was released at exactly the same time as 9/11), "W.D.Y.C.A.I.", "Starbucks" and "Hi-Fi Serious". Overall, a good album. Probably available at a good price now, too.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date