Bad Vibrations review by A Day to Remember

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 2, 2016
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (29 votes)
A Day to Remember: Bad Vibrations

Sound — 8
A Day To Remember have maintained a similar sound since their formation in 2003, bar the slight step back from their heavier roots. "Bad Vibrations" is a return to such times, diverting from the pop punk tone set in "Common Courtesy" (2013) back to a more hardcore punk setting. Jeremy (McKinnon, vocals) displays a wide range of clean and unclean vocals in this album, which works well with the mix of smooth riffs from Kevin (Skaff) and Neil (Westfall, guitarist/s) and breakdowns. Overall, the sound of this album is almost like a déjà vu of one of their earlier releases, "For Those Who Have Heart" (2007). An impressive-sounding album.

Lyrics — 9
Unlike many cliché pop punk bands these days, ADTR's lyrics focus on more than just being dumped. For example, the lyrics to the aptly-named "Paranoia" talk about McKinnon's anxiety and reaches out to fans who feel the same way, while maintaining some modicum of originality within the lyrics. The lyrics also go very well with the lyrics. An exemplary song would be "We Got This," which combines somewhat catchy lyrics with a well-fitting riff that will almost definitely become a sing-a-long at future A Day To Remember concerts. The lyrics are also delivered exceptionally well by McKinnon, who uses his abilities to both sing melodic sections as well as heavier, more guttural parts, without making the lyrics inaudible. Overall, a great lyrical album.

Overall Impression — 8
When comparing "Bad Vibrations" to other albums, even albums released by A Day To Remember, it is obvious that the band have developed in a positive way. Despite their steady climb into the mainstream "rock" scene, they have not fully abandoned their beginnings, and continue to impress even their most hardcore fans with heavy songs such as "Reassemble," while also expanding their fanbase to more mainstream areas with songs like "Same About You" and "In Florida." Overall, this album lived up to the expectations of many of the fans and is one of ADTR's best releases to date.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    I like that ADTR uses EVH heads haha. Seeing them tonight in Indianapolis with Blink182! Can't wait!