eMOTIVe review by A Perfect Circle

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 2, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (30 votes)
A Perfect Circle: eMOTIVe

Sound — 10
This album is unlike any other A Perfect Circle album in the fact that it is a collection of cover songs. Therefore they only write 2 songs on the album. (Passive is a true APC song). A Perfect Circle does amazing things with each song. If you have heard any of the originals versions of these songs, APC takes each of them and makes a mind-blowing interpretation, (and in some cases, surpassing the orignial). I can't say I love all the songs, but generally the album has a great sound. Maynards voice carries the album, and its a real showcase to his vocal talent. Billy provided vocals on some tracks to, which was very enjoyable because he is usually overshadowed by Maynard. Typical APC sound. Excellent.

Lyrics — 8
Since APC did not actually do much writing on the album, it is hard to rate the lyrics. They picked powerful sounds with good messages to cover, but some seemed like they needed more. This is more critical of the original writers rather then the band.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall it was a very good album, and an interesting effort by the band. Very political, very moving and very powerful. Although I didn't like the exicution on some songs, the covers of "Imagine," "Whats Going On," and "Fiddle And The Drum" were excellent. Passive was a great original song by the band, and "Counting Bodies Like Sheep To the Rhythm Of The War Drums" a great remix of "Pet." If you are a fan of the band then this a must buy, if this will be your first APC album then look elsewhere, because this album isnt for everyone.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date