'74 Jailbreak review by AC/DC

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 14, 1976
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (51 votes)
AC/DC: '74 Jailbreak

Sound — 10
The sound quality of this album is very different to AC/DC's other albums but it is certainly better in my opinion. The songs on this album are a collection of some of AC/DC's earlier songs from the albums TNT and High Voltage, and it seems like they chose the best songs from what you hear as when a new song comes on it is just as good or even better than the last song which blew you away then. From the extremely catchy riff of 'You Ain't Got A Hold On Me' to the fast, machine gun snare drum action from Phil Rudd's snare matched with Angus and Malcolms driving guitars of 'Baby, Please Don't Go' make this an album you won't soon forget.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics of this album are very mixed in their content unlike the mature natured Powerage and the just plain dirty 'Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap'. The first song and a live favourite 'Jailbreak' tell a story of a mans desperate escape from prison, only to be shot in the back after he made it. The next song 'You Ain't Got A Hold On Me' basically tells the girl that he isn't really that bothered about her. Following is 'Show Business' shows the problems of being in a band e.g 'You learn to sing, You learn to play, Why don't the businessman ever learn to pay' and 'You pull a chick, take her home, no use man, you're worn out to the bone'. Afterwards is 'Soul Stripper' which takes around 2 minutes for Bon to start singing but when he does the lyrics he sings are about how he met a girl who then tricked and threatened him with a knife and forced him to say things play games he didn't want. Finally, the last song 'Baby, Please Don't Go' is a cover of the original by Big Jow Williams and he is desperately trying to make his ex as it seems not to leave to New Orleans. Overall it's a good mix and more narrative thn a lot of AC/DC's other material with 'Jailbreak' and 'Soul Stripper' telling ful stories.

Overall Impression — 9
This is one of my favourite albums I've listened to, yet I bought for no real reason, just because it was there. but the quality of the songs throughout stays at a constant level of brilliance which is very rare in an album. The only flaw was the lack of songs as the 5 songs only pull up at 25 minutes approximately which means it finishes a bit too quickly, but other than that I have to say it is an exceedingly brilliant album which if someone stole then the thief would have his face pounded in.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date