Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap review by AC/DC

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1992
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.2 (34 votes)
AC/DC: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

Sound — 8
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is AC/DC on the rise. Their sound is starting to come together and their songwriting skills are improving. However, a lot of the songs on this album sound kind of the same and Bon Scott is still struggling to find the right voice in some places. This album has two awesome songs 'Problem Child', which they still play to this day and the upbeat 'Rocker'. Apart from those, though, there are no real memorable songs on this album. Angus' really improve on Dirty Deeds, however.

Lyrics — 8
Personally, I am a Brian Johnson fan. But Bon Scott is by no means a bad singer. I think that Dirty Deeds is an indication of what was to come from this magically charismic frontman. His notes are tighter and he sounds more confident, but still isn't quite what he could be. The lyrics are probably one of the best things about Dirty Deeds. They tye in with the music perfectly and some of them, 'Big Balls', for example are quite chucklesome.

Overall Impression — 8
AC/DC were on the rise. Dirty Deeds is a tight album but the songwriting has a little way to go yet. Some of the songs sound kind of similar and get a bit repetitive and Bon needs more work on his vocals but otherwise this is a fine album, and a very important one at that. Dirty Deeds is often overlooked by potential buyers, possibly because of the (terrible) CD cover. This may not be the first Dacca album you should buy, but it certainly shouldn't be the last.

5 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Spartan 117
    i want the australian version w/ jailbreak and r.i.p. on it. oh yeah a cooler cover too