High Voltage review by AC/DC

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 5, 1994
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (56 votes)
AC/DC: High Voltage

Sound — 8
High Voltage, released circa 1976 in the U.S.A, is the (overseas) debut album of the rock 'n' roll legends from down under. This album contains some of the bands most famous songs from the Bon era, such as the anthem It's A Long Way To The Top, TNT, The Jack, and Live Wire. The latter being their show opener for years afterward. As for the sound, it's not the instantly recognizable crunch that AC/DC has become known for, but it's good nonetheless. The guitars are nice and overdriven, the drums are audible, and the bass sounds nice as well.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are typical AC/DC. Sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll. Pretty much the same formula they've used for just about all of their lyrics for their entire career, but it's good because the stupid lyrics are really part of the AC/DC charm. Bon was always good at writing the lyrics, this especially is prominent in the slow blues shuffle "The Jack". As far as vocal skill goes, Bon is number 1. He is one of the greatest frontmen in rock history, and his voice was very gritty, almost a gravely half-scream.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is brilliant. Not their best, but it did pave the way for the next American released album (Let There Be Rock, Dirty Deeds wasn't released in the states until 1981). Overall, it's a great bluesy album and is certainly a must have for any AC/DC fan.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date