Nine Lives review by Aerosmith

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 18, 1997
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (17 votes)
Aerosmith: Nine Lives

Sound — 7
This was Aerosmith's first album released on Columbia Records. Altough the album is hard rock, it is lacking certain aspects that made Aerosmith, Aerosmith. During the process of making the album the band nearly broke up, they went through a plethora of producers. None of the tracks were written by Aerosmith themselves, they had help from songwriters on the whole process. There are really no catchy songs on the album but that doesn't mean that it is not good. Instead of sounding like Aerosmith of the past the band sounds tired.

Lyrics — 10
Overall the lyrics are very well written, even if the album is lacking certain aspects. Falling In Love (Is Hard On The Knees) is well written, but has no hook to it. It is as if they are trying to make it sound like Dude Looks Like A Lady. Pink may be one of the bright spots on the album, as the song generated alot of success with sales. The best written song on the album would have to be Hole In My Soul. You can really feel Steven Tyler's vocal premise on the song.

Overall Impression — 8
Nine Lives may be one of the better albums made lyrics wise, but it just doesn't have the Aerosmith factor. Plus it must be reall hard to follow up to great albums like Pump and Get A Grip. The only songs to concern yourself with on this album are Falling In Love (Is Hard On The Knees), Pink, Hole In My Soul, and Full Circle. I personally like the album but reviews should not be bias. I would recommend this album to Aerosmith fans only, not fans that like just one or two of their songs.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date