decemberunderground review by AFI

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 29, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 7.6 (381 votes)
AFI: decemberunderground

Sound — 10
AFIs very unique sound returns once again in Decemberunderground featuring the hit single Miss Murder. With complex lyrics and simple but unique guitar parts, Decemberunderground may be the best AFI album yet. This CD contains a great mix of music going from soft punk songs to fast screamo songs to the single that almost sounds Green Day. Jade and Davey have also added in some electronic part in songs like Summer Shudder and Love like Winter.

Lyrics — 10
Davey Havok the singer of AFI, is probably one the best punk/hardcore singers out there. This album features confusing lyrics that in the end are wrapped around lifes main points: Love and death. While singing these lyrics, Davey manages to bring life and make AFI's sound even better.

Overall Impression — 10
my personal favorite songs on this album is their hit Miss Murder, Summer Shudder, Love Like Winter, and Kill Caustic. The dynamic vocals, simple and complex guitar and the overall feel of the songs could make any first time listener a diehard fan of AFI. So if your looking to buy a new CD, buy Decemberunderground.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    What a great album. At first i didn't like it, because i am a fan of their heavier songs, but now it totally grew on me and i love the album. i think the people who don't like it probably only like the "punk" side of AFI and don't understand musical evolution.