Sing the Sorrow review by AFI

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 11, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.5 (84 votes)
AFI: Sing the Sorrow

Sound — 10
I think this album is AFI's best overall. The guitar is amazing, the vocals are amazing, the bass is amazing, the drums are good. Every song has a different feel to it, and none of them get old. The intro to 'The Leaving Song, Pt. 2' is quite frankly brilliant, as Jade uses both hands to tap out the notes on the fretboard; a beautifully done nostalgic touch.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are very well written, much better than some of the older AFI, and they match well with the music. Davey is a great lyricist and vocalist. His singing is hauntingly brilliant.

Overall Impression — 10
This is an amazing album, not really comparable to anything because it has a very unique and well-rounded sound. The most impressive songs are 'The Leaving Song, Pt. 2', '...But Home Is Nowhere', 'Paper Airplanes (Makeshift Wings)' and 'This Celluloid Dream', among countless...12 in all...others. If I lost this album I would definetly replace it. If you don't already own it, get it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date