Sing the Sorrow review by AFI

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 11, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.5 (84 votes)
AFI: Sing the Sorrow

Sound — 10
I first started listening to Afi this past year, when the only songs I knew from them were "Girl's Not Grey" & "Silver & Cold". I figured the rest of the album couldn't be as good. I was wrong. The guitars are heavy and support the up-pitch vocals of Davey Havock. I would consider the album to be Gothic-Love or Gothic Romance, cause the album somewhat refers to death.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are full of passion, whether the song is about love or death. Davey Havock's voice mimics the heavy guitar playing leaving a great amount of space between the two, but it is still musically correct.

Overall Impression — 10
This album is like no other Afi album. It is un-compareable to any other band that I have heard so far. Songs to check out on the album are "Miseria Cantare" and "The Great Disappointment". They are heavy, melodic, and up beat. I definetly do not regret buying this album, its one of the best and I would recommend it to anyone.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date