Days Of Rising Doom: The Metal Opera review by Aina

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 23, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8 (5 votes)
Aina: Days Of Rising Doom: The Metal Opera

Sound — 10
Days Of Rising Doom is a power metal opera that has collaborations from many power metal bands and musicians. The main core of the sound is an amazing orchestral arrangement by Miro Rodenburg, and a guitar-drum-bass core by Robert Hunecke-Rizzo. The orchestral score adds power and grace to the album and story, sweeping through the power metal base of the other instruments. The vocals are done by 15 different vocalists playing each part, with a chorus that performs in many of the songs. The songs range from very slow, graceful songs such as Silver Maiden, to full out Power Metal songs like Flight Of Torek. The sound stays very diverse and interesting throughout the album, and never gets boring. The solos are also very diverse, and are played by a multitude of guest musicians from bands such as Nightwish and Rhapsody of Fire.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics tell the story of the land of Aina, telling first of a love triangle between the two sons of King Taetius, Torek and Talon, and the maid Oria. When Taetius dies, Torek becomes the king, but Talon marries Oria. Torek flees Aina and befriends a race of creatures that view him as some sort of diety, and he takes the name of their god, Sorvahr. He returns, and takes over Aina. Talon, and his daughter Oriana, flees Aina. Torek rapes Oria and they have a son, Syrius. Syrius and Oriana meet, and begin to fall in love, not knowing their background. Talon returns to retake Aina, and has Oriana lead his forces into battle. Syrius leads Torek's forces, and everything becomes peaceful, until Torek kills Syrius. In revenge, Oriana finishes the battle, kills Torek, and takes the throne of Aina. The lyrics tell the story beautifully in conjunction with the score and music, and the vocalists who play each part keep it interesting and diverse. Each part remains clear and separate the whole time, from the narrators to the characters themselves.

Overall Impression — 10
If you like concept albums and stories, this album is a fantastic listen. It is definitely my favorite album of all time. One of the major things I love about it is how intricate the storytelling is throughout the songs. You can listen to it as many times as you want and still notice new little bits of it with every listen. The strongest songs on the album are the Overture, Silver Maiden, Flight of Torek, Seige of Aina, and Rebellion. The only song that I would say is a weak point of the album would be Lalae Amer, which is the least interesting song on the album, and Rape of Oria, which comes in second to Lalae Amer. Other than those two, the album stays strong throughout, and is defintely my favorite album to listen to. If it were lost, I'd definitely get another copy and hope that whoever finds it keeps spreading it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date