Crimson review by Alkaline Trio

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.7 (37 votes)
Alkaline Trio: Crimson

Sound — 10
This is the smoothest sounding Alkaline Trio CD ever. Rather than a huge gap between the styles of guitarist/vocalist Matt Skiba and bassist/vocalist Dan Andriano, this sounds more professional and combined. The quality of this is better than all previous CD's before it. After listening to Crimson, I went back and listened to Good Mourning, and the difference in quality was unbelievable. The drums sound a little more raw and distinct on this CD, and it better compliments Derek Grant's style. Matt Skiba's voice sounds amazing, a lot less scratchy this time around. He has completely recovered from the injury he faced during the recording of Good Mourning. On songs such as "Back To Hell" and "Mercy Me," the use of harmonizing is amazing, not to mention the dualing vocals on those songs as well. Matt's songs, "Mercy Me," "Death Bed," "Fall Victim," and "Prevent This Tragedy" are kind of a "tip of the hat" to his older material, while a lot more mature than anything he's recorded before; and songs like "Time To Waste" "Burn," and "Your Neck" show a different side of Matt Skiba, yet still holding true to Alkaline Trio's style. Dan Andriano shows his darker side with songs "The Poison," "I Was A Prayer," "Settle for Satin," and singing some of the greatest lyrics he has ever written, while showing a slightly happier side of Dan on "Smoke." This CD is a must-have for anyone. If you really like any of their older CD's, you are sure to like this one even more.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics on this CD are the some of the best Matt and Dan have ever written. The topics of death, vampires, and tragic events prove that this band can't be compared to anyone else listed in the "pop-punk" genera.

Overall Impression — 10
This entire CD is just completely awesome. A nice smooth listen, yet still brings out the raw energy this band has always given, and is an instant sing-a-long that you won't soon forget. Matt Skiba proved once and for all that he is a damn good guitar player, Derek rocked on the drums, and Danny's bass playing is still the best in the business. The vocals sounded great, great harmonizing, Matt Skiba improved greatly on his melodies, and Dan's lyrics improved greatly. This is a must have.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date