Feeding review by American Head Charge

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 15, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (12 votes)
American Head Charge: Feeding

Sound — 10
Minneapolis-based industrial/nu metal band American Head Charge has been always famous for uproars and 'out of control' behavaiour of the band members, starting from 2001 Ozzfest's shotguns on stage, bloody brawls and ending with smashing expensive equipment they couldn't afford to. Savage raids on America's stages, leaving ruin and devastation behind, were not the main aim. "It wasn't enough to just play our music," Banks easly admits. "Chalk it up to a desperate bid for attention." And American Head Charge are in our focus again with upcoming release of "The Feeding" -- their sophomore record and most brutal to date. After intensive touring, these giants of metal scene (just one album was enough to put them on the same boat with Slipknot, Mudvayne and Mushroomhead and call gaints of metal music, wow) dicided to stop touring bus and record new album. 4 years since "The War Of Art" and 4 months in studio... and here it is -- a shiny box with clown on it and modest "american head charge" sign. Besides of 11 tracks and 41 minutes of raw power, the discs has a proof that Head Charge are worthy part of dying genre -- nu-metal genre. It should be a great challenge for the band to record this album after all. Besides of an opportunity to feel the spirit of '90s -- when this music was big -- "The Feeding" features two absolutely amazing tracks -- the opener "Loyalty" and 3rd track "Dirty."

Lyrics — 10
The concept of the album is pretty much clear. The purpose is to scary hell out of you with a lot of screaming and overall nightmare tangles of the voice of Martin Cock and the rest of sounds. Martin has quite distinctive voice and I must admit that without him the record shouldn't sounds that good. As to the songs lyrics -- eventually it's even better than what we could have heard on the previous album, yeah it's still about reckless life, agony and despair, but sounds smoother.

Overall Impression — 10
"We're dirty and hungry and bitter and tired and broke and bruised and battered," Cock shrieks in agony, adding, with all due irony, "so happy." These words of the "Walk Away" track probably be the best words to describe the album. "For a while, that's what we wanted to call the album ? with no spaces between the words. It just says it all," says Banks. "The Feeding" is just another good record: solid and neat album full of energy, with no bad or weak tracks. Ans it's probably your last chance to get something real good out of the nu-metal ...while it stands on it's own feet.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date