Never Take Friendship Personal review by Anberlin

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 1, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.1 (36 votes)
Anberlin: Never Take Friendship Personal

Sound — 10
The sound of this band is incredible. The lead guitar has a beautiful distorted tone and the rhythm guitar fits in perfectly with the rest of the band. All the parts of the band blend together wonderfully and the sound of the vocalist's voice is a great complement to the rest of the music. Anberlin has also obviously practiced alot because their transitions and leads are seamless. The whole sound is highly energetic and makes you want to get up and do something (You should see their music videos). This is their second major album and it is a big improvement in sound, but it still sticks to the new-age rock style that Amberlin tends to have.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are at first hard to hear because they blend so well with the rest of the band, but when you do listen to them, they have more meaning than most bands out there today. Anberlin isn't an official Christian band, because it is listed under rock/alternative on the market. However, all of the members of the band are strong Christians and their general themes are based on Christian beliefs. For example, in The Feel Good Drag, Amberlin sings about how easily lust can grab hold of you and drag you down. Most of the other songs are mostly about love, and generally have a good message. The words seem to flow in unison with the rest of the band, so with all these high-energy love songs you can't feel down when you listen to them!

Overall Impression — 8
In comparison with other artists, I would say that this band is just so unique that its hard to compare with others! The only flaw that I found that some of the songs got a bit repetitive after a while. Sometimes if you don't listen to the song closely, you can't tell when one song ends and the other one starts! Other than this flaw, though, Anberlin did an excellent job making this album, and I would only suggest that they make it more diverse next time, for instance making a couple of songs different speeds and in different keys.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date