Lifted High review by Andy Needham Band

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 25, 2012
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.8 (4 votes)
Andy Needham Band: Lifted High

Sound — 9
The music is good. The band has a supporting corps of acoustic and electric guitars, electric bass, drums, and percussion. The recording quality is professional, no feedback or fuzzy audio. Andy Needham did a great job using modern instrumental ideas to form a superb worship album. "No Love Song" begins with a simple yet riveting electric guitar riff, while "Christ Alone" begins with moving percussion. "Refuge" is mainly acoustic, with background of clean electric guitar. Overall, the variety is everything you could want out of a worship band, and the band members are all skilled at what they do.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics to the songs are very impressive, especially for a debut album. Usually for worship artists, their first album is very simplistic and unmoving. However, the Andy Needham Band has amazing lyrics put to good music, and have created their own type of worship, which is catchy, and easy to sing along with. Andy Needham is a good lead singer, a perfect match for this style of music. His voice is clean, and needs no support to keep in tune, or to make him sound good. He is fine on his own. Every song is a new idea, with fresh lyrics, or good changes to old rhymes.

Overall Impression — 10
This album by far and away is worth more than any Chris Tomlin CD, or even a lot of Hillsong United CD's. In my opinion, the best songs in the album are "No Love Song", "Awaken Me", and "Only Just Begun". Each one is different in lyrics and in music. I love that the music is fun, and the lyrics are moving and riveting in their use and in their meaning. The Adam Needham Band simply pours out their hearts into this album, making the music something you want to hear over and over again. Whether sitting at the computer, or driving in the car, this is a great album to listen to. I would definitely put my money into this album.

YouTube preview picture

0 comments sorted by best / new / date