God Has A Plan For Us All review by Angtoria

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 17, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.3 (3 votes)
Angtoria: God Has A Plan For Us All

Sound — 10
The story of angtoria started in November 2001, where female backup vocalist for Cradle of Filth, "Sarah Jezebel Deva" met Chris Rehn of Abyssos. They soon became good friends and found that they had similar ideas for an orchestral side project. They recorded a 5 track demo at a studio owned by Chris's brother Tommy. They decided to add metal elements into their style and asked Tommy Rehn to join the band, and Angtoria was born. In 2006, they released their debut album "God has a Plan for us all". God has a Plan for us all takes obvious influences from both orchestral movie score type music and metal, seamlessly combining the two to create a powerful Symphonic Metal album. Alongside the obvious orchestral sounds, this album uses choirs, distorted guitars, powerful drum beats, some piano and synthesisers, and a very powerful vocalist to create a great album within the symphonic metal genre.

Lyrics — 8
Sarah Jezebel Deva stated that she didn't want to write about "Graveyards and vampires and rainbows", and rather she wanted to write about things that affect people every day. This led to many of the songs being quite negative, covering themes like mental illnesses, depression, hate, betrayal, sexual abuse and self harming. The title track covers the theme of sexual abuse from a priest to a young girl, and "Do you see me now" covers the theme of self harm. However, it's not all bad. There are a few songs and themes covered which aren't negative at all, like love and inner strength. This is what the track, "That's what the wise lady said" is about. In conclusion, yes, this album is fairly negative. That doesn't, however, mean the band is emo. Sarah Jezebel Deva just wanted to write a realistic album rather than the stuff that she does with Cradle of Filth. Overall, she did a pretty good job on the lyrics with just about every song, really capturing the emotion in them. As for vocalist skills, Sarah Jezebel Deva has a beautiful voice. It's so powerful and full of emotion, it truly is perfect for the band. Also the guest vocals on "Deity of disgust" and "Original Sin" were perfect choices.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall, this album was great, perhaps even better than Cradle of Filth's stuff. Sarah Jezebel Deva truly has a powerful and angelic voice, and the mixture between the metal elements and orchestral elements just made the perfect atmosphere for Sarah's emotional lyrics. Though it may be negative a lot of the time, the album is still great and the band should definitely be more well known. My favourite songs on the album are Deity of Disgust, The Addiction, Do you see me now and That's What the Wise Lady Said.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    If anyone sees the Video it adds to the Title track and does a great job of expressing the themes on the album.