New Obscurantis Order review by Anorexia Nervosa

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 13, 2001
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.7 (3 votes)
Anorexia Nervosa: New Obscurantis Order

Sound — 9
New Obscurantis Order (2001) is the second Anorexia Nervosa's album with the singer Hreidmarr. Recorded at Drudenhaus Studio in Limoges (France), Anorexia's own studio, the sound of the album is very aggressive, and Stefan Bayle (guitarist) use high-tech amplifiers. Once more, the band puts wonderful symphonic parts which creates a mix of extrem brutality and sweet melody, but sometimes it creates a really apocalyptic sound.

Lyrics — 9
New Obscurantis Order's lyrics are aggressive, nihilistic and misanthropic. Half the lyrics are in French ("Chatiment De La Rose", "Le Portail De La Vierge"), and Hreidmarr's tortured voice creates an atmosphere of hatred, of wrath. His voice is often recorded twice, and we can hear eerie choirs on each song. Also sometimes a woman sings, like on "Stabat Mater Dolorosa".

Overall Impression — 9
Although released only a year after Drudenhaus, New Obscurantis Order is quite different, because of its violence; it's surely Anorexia Nervosa's most violent album ever. In this album, all songs are wrathful, except "Hail Tyranny" a beautiful piano solo. The best songs are surely "Cha^timent De La Rose" and "Le Portail De La Vierge" but "Stabat Mater Dolorosa", "Mother Anorexia" and others are very good too. Finally, if you enjoy extreme music, buy it now.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Divine Comédie
    Personally, I think Drudenhaus was pretty much better than this one. But it's also a very good album which have a lot a great song. In fact, Drudenhaus was more "ceremonial", orchestrations were far more present than on this album. 9/10