For Blood and Empire review by Anti-Flag

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 21, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.1 (87 votes)
Anti-Flag: For Blood and Empire

Sound — 10
Pittsburgh punk veterans Anti-Flag, in 2006 put out their most accomplished, and defining album of their careers: "For Blood And Empire". Now as its Anti-Flag, fans will love it, if you're a newcomer then this as good an album to get into them. Every song has a meaning behind it, and those meanings/inspirations vary from: corporate arms trading ("1 Trillion Dollar$"). Illegal war crimes ("Depleted Uranium Is A War Crime"). The beauty/cosmetic industry ("This Is The End"). 9/11 ("Hymn For The Dead") Anti-war ("War Sucks, Lets Party!") Economical subversion ("Confessions Of An Economic Hitman") Capitalism/corporations abusing control ("The W.T.O Kills Farmers") That last song, in particular is a tribute to a Korean farmer named Kyung Hae Lee, who in 2001, at the protest against the W.T.O (World Trade Organization) in Cancun, Mexico. He climbed the security fence with a sign which read "The W.T.O Kills Farmers". He then stabbed himself the heart, his sad and unnecessary death attracted far more media and international concern and/or interest, which wouldn't have been possible without him. So yes every song has its own perspective and meaning, and to no one's surprise as Anti-Flag have always had a left wing attitude to their music.

Lyrics — 10
"Seems every station on the TV is selling something no one can be. If every page was torn from the magazine, would cash still drive the media machine." These are lyrics from one of the best songs on the album; "This Is The End (For You My Friend)". Like I mentioned before heir songs and lyrics take a very left wing attitude and a little anarchism thrown in for good measure. Bassist and co-vocalist, Chris Baker sounds incredibly good, his rough, loud punk-rock-born voice is deviously good and rhythm guitarist and other co-vocalist Justin Sane also offers some vocals but his range feels somewhat limited but you won't really notice that (well you might now that it's been stated...) and lead guitarist Chris Head offers some extravagant riffing on the opening track "I'd Tell You But". Drummer Pat Thetic is still a grand sticks man, I sometimes wonder wether or not he was born just for playing punk rock!

Overall Impression — 10
With their sixth record Anti-Flag have established themselves as one of this decade's best punk rock bands, and with every record after this will continue to gain ground and speed! NOFX, Rise Against, Against Me!, watch out 'cause Anti-Flag are raising their flag high (Pun intended). In short this is one the best punk rock albums I've ever heard (only 2nd to Refused's "The Shape Of Punk To Come"). 10 out of 10!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date