Sombres Efforts review by AqME

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 10, 2002
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.4 (5 votes)
AqME: Sombres Efforts

Sound — 9
"Sombres Efforts" (Dark Efforts) is the first album of AqME, probably the best French neo-metal band of the world, and wow, what a CD! First of all, "Sombres Efforts" is the most heavy of all the albums AqME made: the guitar is very distorted, and so is the bass too, so you seem more to hear two guitars, but no problem, it all sounds perfect. The drums are also very good, and Koma, the singer, has a beautiful voice. But "Sombres Efforts" doesn't sound like the other French metal CDs: you can clearly see that the band worked very hard to make it perfect, and they almost made it!

Lyrics — 8
On "sombres Efforts" the band wrote very poetic texts ("Tout A Un Detail Pres," "In Memoriam"), and fore some other, incredible heavy songs ("Superstar," "Le Rouge Et Le Noir"), some violent texts which fit absolutely with the music! If you don't speak French very good, it is indeed very difficult to understand the true meaning of some songs, like "'Si' N'existe Pas," where Koma tries to explain why humans always try to answer some questions about our existence, and why he thinks that those questions are just senseless, etc.

Overall Impression — 9
Man this is just the best CD of AqME! Everything is alsmost perfect! In one word: rock! If you think French metal is bad, well it's not too late to change your mind. When you listen to it, you're in an another world, where music is just everything where everything is just AqME.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date