Starve For The Devil review by Arsis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 5, 2010
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (13 votes)
Arsis: Starve For The Devil

Sound — 9
They are amazing on their instruments with the guitars black metal feel added to the great use of double bass by the drummer Mike Van Dyne. The guitarists are great at their speed and lead riffs which make this album a new sound compared to previous albums. Some songs from their older albums are better but not as good on instruments and the vocalist (Which is also the guitarist) James Malone has improved on his vocals and guitar riffs which make this album a must hear for any Arsis fan out there.

Lyrics — 10
James Malone is a very talented vocalist with a good raspy scream, he uses high and low at good times in the songs which make it a listening experience. "Awaits to hear the sound of armies marching underground and the screams of failures conquest. A wish to waste and rise alone with only the wolves i call my own." (From Soulles To Shattered(Art In Dying)) Lyrics are very good and fit in well to up the level from previous albums.

Overall Impression — 10
This band has improved alot since "We Are The Nightmare" Mike Van Dyne (The Drummer) Left the band in 2007 and joined again in 2009 aswell as Noah Martin who left in 2008 and joined again in 2010 after the album (Starve For The Devil) was released with bassist Nathaniel Carter. Arsis performed at the Eye Scream Metal Fest II on March the 6th 2010 playing songs from their new album. Most impressively the guitar gets your attention and makes it very interesting.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    fossa II
    Personally i loved this album. It seems a little more experimental than their others but i like what comes out. I personally really love the chorus on closer to cold and soulless to shattered, because that's what Arsis does best: they write catchy choruses.