From Tragedy review by As Forever Fades

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 5 (2 votes)
As Forever Fades: From Tragedy

Sound — 8
Driving, constantly, with no desire to stop and smell the roses; they crush them. From Tragedy is the combination of two EPs from As Forever Fades. It boasts 10 tracks of metal. The album is a fusion of new wave metalcore and old school thrash (notably in the song "Cry of the Created). The band is DIY and sometimes the recordings show this fact. Nevertheless, As Forever Fades surpasses the most prevelant metal musicians in their guitar riffs. The drums leak a slight hardcore punk influence, adding to the orgininality of the album.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrics are one of the best parts of this band. Forget cliches, the lyrics seem to tell a story in each song. The vocalist has a wide range of screaming and applies it brilliantly. The most notable song with excellent lyrics is "Dry Hope". When the music gets aggressive the vocalist throws in lyrics to influence the music, creating an aggressive plot to the stories being told.

Overall Impression — 9
"Words Unclear" has a heart stopping breakdown. "Infernal" includes a section of sweep patterns, i don't know how he does it! "The Voice to Reason With" shows that the band is more than just aggressive metalcore riffs and provides a great chord structure. Prehaps an interlude was needed on the album to make the album more than just a collection of songs. LOVED it! Truly bada**! The sort of thing you'd listen to when fist-fighting the devil.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    The album is a fusion of new wave metalcore and old school thrash (notably in the song "Cry of the Created).
    No it isn't,there no more thrash in here than in any other metalcore album/band out there.And basically what you are saying abut the lyrics is that they are angsty and/or cancer inducing?