Intergalactic Sonic 7s/Cosmic Debris review by Ash

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (4 votes)
Ash: Intergalactic Sonic 7s/Cosmic Debris

Sound — 10
A double album of Ash's singles and B-Sides here containing 41 tracks in all! It shows the transition of the band from punk kids to a world class rock machine. It includes the new single 'Envy' and every other song you could wish for. The change of the music from punk-chart friendl pop punk-heavy rock-to soft indie is amazing!

Lyrics — 10
The lyrical ability of Tim Wheeler is well known and it proves itself on this album. Never once do you cringe when you hear a line. Charlotte Hatherley's backing vocals are brilliant while Tims voice is at its peak on the newer 'Free All Angels' stuff.

Overall Impression — 10
This is brilliant album if you're only starting to listen to Ash. The fact they can make a 19track singles collection after 3 albums and 1 mini-album is pretty exceptional. Songs to hear would be 'Girl From Mars', 'Envy', 'Kung-Fu', 'Burn Baby Burn', 'Shining Light' and 'Jesus Says'. The only bad song in my opinion is 'Numbskull'. Meanwhile on the B-Sides 'Cosmic Debris' album the songs to hear are 'Sneaker', 'Melon Farmer', '13th Floor and the strange 'Cantina Band'. All in all a brilliant collection.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date