Stand Up and Scream review by Asking Alexandria

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 25, 2010
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (177 votes)
Asking Alexandria: Stand Up and Scream

Sound — 10
"Stand Up and Scream" is the not only the debut album from Asking Alexandria; it is also one of their best releases. Danny Worsnop, lead vocalist combines deep, unclean vocals, high screams and softer, more melodic tunes to show off his skills as a metalcore vocalist, and guitarists Ben Bruce and Cameron Liddell provide creative riffs and small solos, as well as heavier drops and headbang-worthy sections to fit the vocals. Bruce also adds - without ruining the sound - a more techno aspect to the music, using a synthesiser and piano in songs such as "The Final Episode (Let's Change Channel)" and "Hiatus." Overall, the sound of the album is the heaviest the band has produced since without going overboard with intensity and keeping some sort of melody. In a word? Spectacular.

Lyrics — 7
Unlike their other albums, "Stand Up and Scream"'s lyrics show the band's infancy through their lyrics. Most of the songs on the album are about either women, booze, or sex. Albeit immature or appropriate (notably the entirety of "Not the American Average"), the lyrics fit well with the style of music, and Worsnop's vocals ensure that the lyrical content of the album does not drastically overshadow the instrumental aspect of the album. The lyrics on this album are understandably less developed than their future releases, but do not ruin the sound. However, they could be improved and have prevented this CD from being near-perfect.

Overall Impression — 9
When compared to other artists in the metalcore scene (Bring Me The Horizon, Alesana, blessthefall etc.), "Stand Up and Scream" stand out among the rest. Not only are the singles from the album deservedly given their status as singles, but most - if not all - of the other songs maintain a high quality. The non-single song that most impressed me on the album has to be "When Every Day's the Weekend." The song contains both a melodic chorus, excellent intro, outro and a particularly heavy drop that is one of my all time favourites. With the exception of the lyrical content of this album, I would definitely rebuy AND recommend this as a starter CD for anyone discovering Asking Alexandria, joining the metalcore scene, or looking for new music.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date