Congregation Of The Damned review by Atreyu

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 27, 2009
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.5 (74 votes)
Atreyu: Congregation Of The Damned

Sound — 7
Like on old albums, they tried again more "Screaming" in these songs. It sounds like a mixxed version of "Lead Sails Paper Anchor" and "A Death-Grip On Yesterday" when you here Alex Varkatzas (Vocals) screaming and Brandon Saller (Drums) singing the clean parts, often the chorus. They gave this album a new part of metalcore, they actually never used. With "Big" Dan Jacobs and Travis Miguel playing both the lead guitar, the guitars lose never their dominance in the songs. By the way, they put a background guitar into these songs, which is playing the rythm guitar, when both guitarist play the solos.

Lyrics — 9
When you hear Alex Varkatzas singing most of the time ther verse, Brandon Saller singing the chorus and Marc McKnight growling in the background, you listen to three good skilled singers. Brandon Saller's rythm of Drums is played as good as he wouldn't sing. It's impressive how he learned singing and playing at the same time. But, Alex Varkatzas, the "official" singer of Atreyu not only screams or growls. In songs like "Wait For You" or "Lonely" you can hear him singing with a clean voice. There has always been taken a look for the lyrics, especially at the song "Wair For You". This ballad includes every duty it has to. Not only the music is great, the lyrics describe love and love's pain.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall, I would say, it is a great album, the guitars are a perfect mix of Hardrock, Metal, and Metalcore. It unites every album of themselfes. My most impressive songs are "Storm To Pass", "Insatiable" and "We Are The living Dead" (Bonus Track). I don't know why this band isn't as popular as "Rihanna". It actually has to! By the way, it is worth buying the CD with the Bonus Track, in Atreyu's Bonus Tracks they always try to play a different style of Metal or the cover a famous song of another band. So just buy it, listen to it, and you'll make your oget opinion!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date