Suicide Notes And Butterfly Kisses review by Atreyu

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 4, 2002
  • Sound: 7
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (51 votes)
Atreyu: Suicide Notes And Butterfly Kisses

Sound — 7
I recently downloaded this album on iTunes, It caught my interest to hear Atreyu's earlier material. I was quite pleasantly surprised by the raw and stand alone sound of "Suicide Notes And Butter Kisses". The guitar's not as much complicated as just plain heavy, this works fairly well to go with the ideas and concepts of the songs. Not a lot is greatly different for the drums, bass and percussion on album, Not anything special but defiantly up to standard.

Lyrics — 9
The vocals are what impressed me most in this record, singer Alex Varkatzas has far more raw emotion and powerful lyrical writing on this record than any of the other albums they have made. Nearly every song on the record has obvious powerful emotional intent behind it.

Overall Impression — 8
Overall I would say defiantly one of Atreyu's better albums, far better than the follow up, "The Curse". Every song on the album is full of raw emotional power, from the bleak words of "A Song For The Optimists", to the anger filled "At Least I Know I'm A Sinner".

0 comments sorted by best / new / date