Avenged Sevenfold review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 30, 2007
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (919 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: Avenged Sevenfold

Sound — 8
Avenged Sevenfold have a very dark and scary tone to their music. But there is an exception for this album as the album is far more upbeat and only sinister songs on the album are "Scream" and "Almost Easy". Apart from these songs (which has a very heavy, scary feel to it) all of the songs have a bright and somewhat cheerful tone to them, especially "Lost" as this has a few heavily autotuned parts in it which give of a more friendly (rather than aggressive) feel. The overall sound of the album is very impressive as the songs have a more bright and cheerful tone to them compared to their earlier albums or "Nightmare".

Lyrics — 8
Some of the songs on this album had very deep, meaningful lyrics. For example, the lyrics in "Dear God" explain how all the members of the band miss their families and how they wish they could be with them during tours, whereas others can be a little less serious; even humorous like in "A Little Piece Of Heaven" where the lyrics are intended to be funny, though the humour is very mature a not all audiences would be able to pick up on the mature gags. M.Shadows was the vocalist for this album. He has a very crunchy voice which he can use to good effect in the heavier, more aggressive songs such as "Scream" and "Almost Easy" where there is screaming parts. The backing vocals (performed by Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance) were very clean and, when singing together, can make some very impressive harmonies. The Rev appears in "Afterlife" for a short time before the solo, and has a very crunchy, aggressive voice which accommodates him well.

Overall Impression — 8
The best songs on this album are "Afterlife", "Almost Easy", "Dear God", and "Scream". This is due to the guitars in each of them. The solos were incredible in all of the songs. Zacky Vengeance and Synyster Gates twin guitar is truly amazing; they ate both suited to each others playing style so well. This band has a totally unique sound and do not compare to any other band I know at this given time. This is definitely an album I would listen to again and again. And I look forward to all of their future albums. The only thing I don't like in this album is that in "Lost" there are parts which are autotuned which I don't think suites the band at all.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date