City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 4
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 6 Neat
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,117 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 8
The sound has improved from their other albums. Lots of catchy riffs and solos etc. Very good rhythm section. Problem is most songs sound the same with the chugging etc. The spanish part at the end of "Sidewinder" was a welcome change, and though I personally don't like the song, "Seize The Day," adds some much needed depth too the album. Again though, I feel the songs often sound too similar.

Lyrics — 4
I don't find anything impressive about the lyrics. The singing is decent, but I don't find Shadow's voice to be particularly compelling and sometimes find it just annoying. The harmonies can be soulful but they use far too much harmony and background singing.

Overall Impression — 6
Get a couple songs but not the whole album. The songs all sound too similar. However A7X has lots of talent and make good music. I'm just waiting for something with a little more variety and excitement to it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date