City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,118 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 10
Avenged Sevenfold finally shows us what metal actually sounds like. It's not screams! Metal had no screamigng originally and I'm tired of people bad mouthing them because they changed their vocal approach. That said, M. Shadows shows off an impressive set of pipes. Synester Gates and Zacky Vengeance are impressive as always, esecially Gates who's leads can make even a seasoned guitar player sweat. Very well done.

Lyrics — 10
The singing and guitar playing go hand in hand all the way through. Shadow's gravelly delivery is complimented by Gate's and Shadow's high octave singing durign choruses and other important moments. The song like Strength Of The World made me realize hoe powerless we all really are. Bat Country is just incredible and so is Burn It Down.

Overall Impression — 10
Though different from their other 2 albums, this album does not dissapoint. They present another album of impressive sogn writign and composition. I would definitly buy this album again and again if it were stolen.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date