City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,117 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 8
Avenged Sevenfold's earlier albums were screaming, dark music, and just pure metalcore. Now they have slowed donw and added a little more harmonies to each and every song, the osngs are lighter and softer. Zacky and Syny show of their talents of soloing in the songs, Bat Country, The Wicked End, Beast And The Harlot, and Betrayed. They have many great harmonies such as Burn it Down, The Wicked End, Sidewinder, and Trashed And Scattered. The song that stands out the most would be Seize The Day, it's slow, acoustic, in regular tuning, and just a lot more melodic. The Rev "drummer" has found his true drumming skills. In Burn it Donw, the intro drumming part just tells you alot. If you listen to Beast And The Harlot, then you will see what I mean, the drums in there seriously sound like an octupus is hitting them. Johnny Christ "bassist" has a nice bass line in The Wicked End.

Lyrics — 8
Matt may not be able to scream, but he sure can sing. In some songs his voice is whiny aand high pitched and out of tune, but he tries. He still has that raspy voice though. Syn and Zacky Do an excellent job for backup singers.

Overall Impression — 9
I would compare this to Waking The Fallen, there are twice as many harmonies, but the lack of dark riffs makes the albmus different musically. Lyrically, Waing the Fallen was mainly about death. This album has loads of different lyrics. Sining wise was the biggest change. It went from dark growling/screaming to a actual vpice.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date