City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 6
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,117 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 8
The overall sound of this album is very catchy. You can easily tell that alot of creativity and hard work was put into making each song. With catchy riffs and face-melting solos around every corner it makes you think about it for minutes or even hours on end. In the album they use something not many people can pull of like harmonized soloing and sweep picking. The two guitarist (Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance) really know what they're doing, as do the rest of teh band.

Lyrics — 6
For the album "City Of Evil" you wouldn't really think to listening to the lyrics, becuase your too occupied trying to figure out how they can get their instruments to do the crazy things on this album. If you really get down to it and listen, though, the lyrics go very well with the sound. The singer (M. Shadows) says in most interviews that the band wrote the music first and then he would write the lyrics as he listened to the music. By doing that, he makes each word fit perfectly with the music.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is like no other. Avenged Sevenfold has a very unique sound and you can tell by listening to this album. It is definitely the best yet. The thing that makes it so individual is that each instrument flows together with each other and it makes it sound perfect. Although they do sound a bit like they put a solo in every song and some sounds are repeated through different songs, each song has a pretty good sound, and you can easily tell teh difference, but it still sounds like the same band. The finer songs to look out for if you like crazy solos would be "Beast And The Harlot", "Bat Country", "Sidewinder", and "M.I.A." If your looking for a good harmony there's "The Wicked End." If you want a slower song but still having the benefit of a sweet guitar solo, you could listen to "Seize The Day." Every song on the album has it's own sound and it stands out.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date