City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,117 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 10
Avenged Sevenfold have released their third full-length album which is also their mainstream breakthrough record. Avenged Sevenfold have really out done themselves with this record and I just hope that they will be able to duplicate the success with the next one.

Lyrics — 8
I'm think that the band did some very good writing, but some lyrics are taken from other writings such as the Book of Revelations. I still think that the words are put together in perfect form though. M. Shadows has strayed away from his screaming roots, but I don't find that as any kind of loss. I personally dislike screaming and prefer singing. He does some great work with putting together melodies and incorporating distortion into his vocals.

Overall Impression — 10
I highly recommend picking this album up, because the guitars are amazing, the drums are outstanding and the vocals are crazy good. I think there are a lot of great songs on this album that should have gotten more credit, but the singles include Beast And The Harlot, Bat Country and Seize The Day. I think that songs such as Strength of the World should have gotten more credit, because it sounds unique and as if it has been worked very hard on. So, I really recommend picking this peice of art up for your personal compact disc collection.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    "It's so sad to see how such a great band with such great songwriting skills could turn into the generic MTV band. They used to be unique now they just aren't" "HIM%(^" who admits in this article to being a huge Metallica fan, is accusing A7X of selling out! Btw I'm not having a go at Metallica (I also love them) but Jesus can you get more hypocritical!? Leave A7X alone, this is a good album!
    AV7X is not screaming satan-worshipping stuff that people think it is.....their music has a message....M.I.A is a great anti-war song