City of Evil review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 21, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.5 (1,117 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: City of Evil

Sound — 10
Avenged Sevenfold with their third studio album, reach full maturity, their final sound, and the structuring of texts and melodies almost like the old legends of Hard Rock. For me this is without doubt the best album of the Californian band. In the first album, "Sounding The Seventh Trumpet," if someone had not heard yet, the band played everything other than in recent works. Avenged Sevenfold were a promising band Metalcore, but later a serious problem with the vocal cords of the singer, Matt Shadows, the band had to choose to undertake other types of Metal. In their second album, "Waking The Fallen", are beginning to see the first signs of a change of genre by the band, but still with a good influence Metalcore. In the third album the Metalcore vein is totally absent or almost, for old fans could seem like a bad blow, but for me was the glorification of one of the most promising band in the whole scene Metal. The sound of "City Of Evil" is very varied, as there are Heavy Metal songs, Hard Rock songs, Rock ballads, and orchestral songs. Regarding the technical implementation, is something great, the sound of drums is unique, is an unmistakable sound than any other drummer, and then "The Rev"(Drums) is promoted with honors. Regarding the work of rhythm and guitar riffs, "Zacky Vengeance", are carried out well. But the real spectacle is the unique and unmistakable voice of "Matt Shadows," which has interpreted the songs so unexceptionable, and the solos of "Synyster Gates," solos sometimes easy execution but unforgettable atmosphere or frenetic and fast solos by difficult implementation, in my opinion one of the most talented guitarists of the new Metal scene. Finally, the sound of "City Of Evil" is incredible, certainly one of the best metal album of recent years.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics to "City of Evil" are very diverse and deal with various issues. Most of the lyrics relate to the personal sphere and situations of daily life always lived by the members of the band. Other songs have different issue, as "Betrayed" which is a tribute song in honour of irreplaceable Dimebag Darrel (I will not waste time even tell you who he was, fans of Metal knows that great loss was); other issue is that by "M.I.A.", the wonderful song that closes this masterpiece, which literally stands for "Missing In Action" and treats the loss in war of a dear friend to the band. And according to subject matter, the sound reflects the emotions that the band has tried when he wrote these songs, and even perfect voice interpretation from Matt Shadows who managed to convey all the different emotions that this album expresses, especially in ballads rock "Seize the Day" and "MIA", and made me go back a lot of melancholy and nostalgia "Betrayed," which recalls is a great guitarist but especially a great man, Dimebag Darrel.

Overall Impression — 9
All the impressions that I had to this album are all positive, the band has no sin in nothing and made his best album. Now I will go to analyse one by one all the masterpieces of this album: 01. Beast And The Harlot - which is also the second single excerpt from City of Evil, in the first 20 seconds seems a intro, but it is a song by the unforgettable sound, which fully reflects the maturity reached by the band. 02. Burn It Down - it starts with a hammering, beautiful and lively, both in lyrics that sound. 03. Blinded In Chains - where they are valued the excellent qualities of The Rev, at around 2min. 50sec is an impressive passage of battery (still can not understand how to do it). 04. Bat Country - one of my favourite songs, the first single City of Evil, another song which reflects the profound change in the band. 05. Trashed And Scattered - both beautiful song as bad, obviously both in lyrics that sound. 06. Seize The Day - the third and final individual extract City of Evil, a song slow and melancholic, one of the most beautiful rock ballads of recent times, besides the beautiful song is also the music video (really not to be missed, the evocative solo of "Synyster Gates" on the coffin during the funeral, unforgettable). 07. Sidewinder - song of 7.01 min, from sound particular, bad but at the same time slow, genial. 08. The Wicked End - song of 7.10 min, initially aggressive, around four minutes becomes evocative with church choirs, grandiose. 09. Strength Of The World - song of 9.14 min, this song represents, totally, the new essence of Avenged Sevenfold, contains all the creativity of the band, all the technical skills of the band, making this perhaps the best song of the full album. 10. Betrayed - great song, for a great tribute to a great man. 11. M.I.A. - the Avenged Sevenfold close their masterpiece with a beautiful song, which holds itself up somewhat throughout the album, starting as a ballad Rock, and then become frantic. Awesome. Finally advice to all connoisseurs of good Metal and Rock this album, there certainly disappoint (at least as I see it), a great album for a future great band.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Their new album is the best must buy for any Hard Rock Rock Metal....and country to rock kinda songs with a big build up!
    Anywhere would this CD fit under EMO of all tags...that should be on their older albums that tag should be!