Waking the Fallen review by Avenged Sevenfold

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 26, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (480 votes)
Avenged Sevenfold: Waking the Fallen

Sound — 10
The sound on this album is no less than perfect. The guitars scream talent and the bass is unbelievably good. The drummer has got to be on speed or something in order to pull this stuff off. It's really amazing how he can do so much. The good thing is that they take evil to the next step with this album and they make is sound really sinister (meaning really good, but good and evil don't go good together) I just can't believe how they put everything together so perfectly.

Lyrics — 10
M. Shadows is a genius. It's as simple as that. From songs of biblical stories that sound evil (Chapter Four) to songs about the pain of being left behind after a friend commits suicide (Second Heartbeat, I Won't See You Tonight Parts I and II) he never stops singing (or screaming) good lyrics from beginning to end. It's just that good.

Overall Impression — 10
This is without a doubt one of the best albums ever recoreded. Need I say more?

0 comments sorted by best / new / date