Avril Lavigne review by Avril Lavigne

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 1, 2013
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 3.6 (73 votes)
Avril Lavigne: Avril Lavigne

Sound — 8
Avril Lavigne seems to be playing with new toys (music styles). From the industrial-meets-pop/punk track of "Bad Girl" (featuring Marilyn Manson), the electronic/dubstep-influenced track of "Hello Kitty" and a Nickelback song with her vocals... Sorry, her duet with Chad Kroeger on "Let Me Go," Avril is trying to proof she can do whatever experimenting with other styles and still being "Avril." There's also her signatures pop-rock anthems like "Here's to Never Growing Up," "B-tchin' Summer," pop-punk influenced songs such as "You Ain't Nothin' Yet," "Rock N Roll," "17" that seems to be leftovers from the 2007 mall-punk album, The Best Damn Thing; and her typical bittersweet alt-ballads ("Hush Hush," "Falling Fast," "Give You What You Like," "Hello Heartache") that now she's turning them with an indie vibe.

Lyrics — 9
She opened up to sexual lyrics and being provocative on tracks like Bad Girl: "You can fuck me, you can play me"; then we have "Hello Kitty" a song about her "so pretty" kitty (a.k.a. vagina): "I wanna do everything with you together, come and play with kitty and me..."; the sexual undertow of a failed relationship on "Give You What You Like" seriously one of her most mature and depressing songs on the album, that would show the vulnerability of doing sex with somebody just to feel loved; and on "You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet" it feels the thrill of going to the "next step": "'Cause it's so fun, third base and head it for a homerun, don't stop baby..." There's her partying/summertime lyrics talking about not giving a fuck, getting drunk, kissing her ass, being young ("Here's to Never Growing Up"), partying hard at the beach, kicking ass to the motherfucking cops ("B-tchin' Summer"), "Sippin' on Sunshine" and the nostalgia of stealing beers and running red lights on "17." The epic tri-sad songs "Hello Heartache," "Hush Hush," "Falling Fast" the perfect reminiscence of her transition from teen-angst lyrics to mature-deep lyrics, accepting things instead of bashing someone.

Overall Impression — 8
"Avril Lavigne" is a mix of her previous albums where she experiment with new sounds, it makes us think where she could head on a future. It shows two sides: the upbeat, young, summery, free, nostalgic songs and the dark, ansgty, blue, sexual, deep songs. Clearly it could be a hit worldwide, but seems to be difficult nowadays in a world dominated by electronic, pop, dance music; there's no room for the poppy punk princess who's seems to be heading to the alternative/indie underground place of Alanis Morissette and Liz Phair. For someone who listens to rock music, she's gonna be still the most relatable female pop-rock singer from that early 2000's pop-punk music wave.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    The question is not that people have different opinions. It is the question why they have their opinions which are quite, well to be honest, stupid.