Let Go review by Avril Lavigne

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 4, 2002
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.5 (48 votes)
Avril Lavigne: Let Go

Sound — 8
Avril Lavigne's CD "Let Go" is a very refreshing album. I purchased it only going off of the one song "Complicated". I truely love this CD. I can listen to any song; I don't skip tracks to get to my favorite song. The fact that she is a girl punk chick and plays guitar and writes her own music is awesome and what real music should be. Her voice isn't a different sound so she isn't new in that respect. She combines Paula Cole and Alanis Morisette with a younger Michelle Branch tone. BUT--- she CAN belt it out as in her song "Anything But Ordinary".

Lyrics — 8
The problem is is that she has not written a whole song by herself. She co-writes with the Matrix and Clif Magness-- so she has some help. Every song talks about defective boys and defective relationships and depressing situations. No happy songs...snif snif. This is not always a good thing. But she is a beautiful talented girl and i think she'll be here a long time.

Overall Impression — 8
I recommend the CD totally!!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date