Under My Skin review by Avril Lavigne

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 25, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 6.5 (140 votes)
Avril Lavigne: Under My Skin

Sound — 10
The sound is definitely more darker and deeper than "Let Go". It's harder and less poppier, eventhough she did say that she purposely made a couple of more catchy songs, just to be radio friendly. The first single "Don't Tell Me" is the poppiest, but don't get the wrong impression that that's the sound for the rest of the album. The listener can obviously detect a more mature, grown sound.

Lyrics — 10
Avril has co-written every song from the new record, with some help from Ben Moody, Chantal Kreviazuk,Butch Walker and Raine Maida. The lyrics are nothing like "Sk8er Boi", she wrote about how a death can affect someone (her grandfather died) called "Slipped Away", a song called "Nobody's Home", which is about a girl who's trying to find a place in the world while trying to overcome the s--it around her(it's a song anyone can relate to). Overall, all the lyrics are relatable to anyone- they're real, honest and deep.

Overall Impression — 10
This album really shows what's going on in the girl's head- it's about introspection about things that matter. It really shows how she's grown from "Let Go", and if you really take the time to listen to it with an open mind, you're bound to feel the honesty and deep feelings. It really pulls her away from the stupid labels she was given from the first record.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date