The Empire Strikes First review by Bad Religion

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.8 (24 votes)
Bad Religion: The Empire Strikes First

Sound — 10
Music is loud, fast, and the hooks are insane and "Los Angeles Is Burning" might go down as one of the top 10 best songs ever of BR. Awesome lyrics, crazy melodies, flowing riffs. Another classic Bad Religion record that again raises the bar of what punk rock should be: experimental, real, and powerful! A great addition to their influential discography. Their tone doesn't change, but the battles are always changing. BR harmonies rise and fall behind a pleadingly angry Graffin in "All There Is", and one of the band's three guitarists adds a solo blister.

Lyrics — 10
On their latest CD entitled The Empire Strikes First, punk's most important active band takes its weightiest stance yet on the dual themes of religion and politics. Songs like "Let Them Eat War," "Los Angeles Is Burning" and "Sinister Rouge" get right in the face of the church, the government and the public alike; the band pulls no punches with this album and the result is another clear, powerful, classic Bad Religion album! Best might be "Los Angeles Is Burning".

Overall Impression — 10
Same awesome Bad Religion as before except faster, harder, and flowing so smooth. The punk-pop kids in the drive-thru and hanging out at half-pipes need to see the graybeards bringing the big issue pain train. But it helps if those issues are bound to strong melodies, and in this deptartment Bad Religion doesn't disappoint. The person who said it was their worst record in a decade, obviosuly hasn't listented to the last four records. Thanks Bad Religion, you shine a bright light upon an otherwise dark future for the world.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date