The Empire Strikes First review by Bad Religion

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 2004
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.8 (24 votes)
Bad Religion: The Empire Strikes First

Sound — 9
The sound of the guitars works pretty well. The beginning shred on the intro to "Let Them Eat War" is pretty nifty. The guitar solo in Sinister Rouge is wicked in its own sense. With bendable wreckage and sweet motions. There is a little tiny bit of hip hop in Let them Eat War. Done by Redman who also helped Offspring on Original Prankster.

Lyrics — 9
These lyrics were very clever. "Child Molesters And Jesuits" is a strong theme of religion in that tone. But the lyrics are focusing on the way Bush has been handling the country. Greg Graffin's vocals give the songs a strong, powerful feel. He never yells but always sounds to me like a punk rock leader making a point of what George W. Bush has done to the country. It is clearly expressed in "Let them Eat War" and "Los Angeles Is Burning".

Overall Impression — 8
This is one of their better albums. Short, but worth the buy. The best songs on this album are "Sinister Rouge," "Social Suicide," "Los Angeles Is Burning," "Let Them Eat War" and "The Quickening." This is one of their best albums. Many people hated Stranger than Fiction. But I thought it was alright. Then "Gray Album" I think it was called, was a lot better than this one. But it did compare. If some heartless jerk steals this from you, buy it again. It's definitley worth to hear and it may even be one of the collectibles in the future.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    MiScHiEf BrEw
    to "unregistered": how can you think the lyrics get "kinda weird?" Have you ever seen their lyrics, Graffin and Guerwitz are quite possibly the two most intelligent artists in the business today, and it shows through their lyrics. But then again maybe they're too intellectual for you...