Gordon review by Barenaked Ladies

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 28, 1992
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (4 votes)
Barenaked Ladies: Gordon

Sound — 9
The band's first release, and it shows in their music. It is definetly light pop, with only small hints of rock, unlike their other albums. Some of the tracks seem somewhat immature in a musical sense, but at the same time, every track on their is catchy, and smooth listening. The quality's fine, no unbalanced sound or anything like that. At this point in their career they don't really sound like anyone but themselves, which was (and still is) refreshing to the ears.

Lyrics — 8
While not as complicated or as wide as their other stuff, the lyrics here are well thought out and fairly profound; they mean what they sing. Steve Page takes the main vocals on Gordon, but on a few tracks, he and Ed Robertson share them. Both sound great, not to mention great background music.

Overall Impression — 8
Arguably their best, but I wouldn't put it past 4rth best. It is nice, easy listening, and it's simply fun to listen to, but you can tell they're young, and their music still had some evolving to do, which is shown on "Born On A Pirate Ship" and "Stunt." Great tracks include "Brian Wilson," "If I Had $1000000" and "Blame It On Me." Being a fan, it's worth purchasing, but I suggest checking out some tracks before you pay for it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date