Requiem review by Bathory

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1994
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 7
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.5 (2 votes)
Bathory: Requiem

Sound — 8
Much like every album Bathory made in the 90s Requiem has its own style, sound and feel, it's a major shift from the viking albums before it and on the innovative aspect a major disappointment. Requiem is what it was meant to be, a simple old school thrash album, it sticks to the generic style of the genre more or less trough the entire length of the album. However, once you get passed the overwhelming dryness you will find that it is not that bad. You wont hear anything revolutionary but what you will hear are fast and more than descent songs sounding a lot like the American and German thrash scenes in the 80s. Production wise the album sounds good, the bass is a bit to loud but it is better that it's loud than deaf as in most cases, the guitars have a nice flat distortion and the drums are very audible. Requiem is what it is, a trip down memory lane.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics too are dead set in the 80s, war, violence, religion/anti-religion, Jesus, it's all there once again fully respecting the genre though there is the unmistakable approach to the lyrics that only Quorthon can give. The vocals on requiem are excellent, dirty and gritty, raw as are all of Quorthon's vocal styles shown on the other 11 Bathory albums.

Overall Impression — 7
If you are looking for something mind-blowing, look elsewhere because Requiem just is not, on the other hand if you are looking for a solid thrash album than requiem will suffice. Clocking in at 33 and a half minutes Requiem is a quick and short album and if your expectations are not high than it will entertain for those 33 minutes. My favorite songs are "War Machine", "Pax Vobiscum" and "Apocalypse".

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Really should be rated lower if you feel its 'generic and dry'. But its Bathory so alls good.
    Damn I love the bass on this album! It has incredibly high volume and sounds cool and it really makes the album sound heavier!