Check Your Head review by Beastie Boys

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Apr 21, 1992
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (5 votes)
Beastie Boys: Check Your Head

Sound — 10
The sound is amazing! Every riff is clear, every vocal is distinct and every beat is crazy! The track ratings are: 01. Jimmy James - 8/10 dedicated to Hendrix with some nice loops 02. Funky Boss - 7/10 good for a 1minute long track! 03. Pass The Mic - 8/10 the first great song. A hip hop classic. 04. Gratitude - 9/10 the first hardcore song to appear on a Beastie album. 05. Lighten Up - 8/10 interesting instrumental. 06. Finger Lickin' Good - 7/10 good - the songs get classic after this. 07. So What'cha Want - 10/10 WHOA!!! One of the best songs I've ever heard!! 08. The Biz Vs. The Nuge - 10/10 excellent 30second long song. 09. Time For Livin' - 9/10 a great hardcore song. 10. Something's Got To Give - 10/10 inspired and intelligent. 11. The Blue Nun - 10/10 funny! 12. Stand Together - 9/10 another great song with cool loops. 13. Pow - 8/10 an intriguing instrumental. 14. The Maestro - 6/10 weakest track on the album. 15. Groove Holmes - 7/10 good. 16. Live At P.j.'s - 8/10 the songs start getting good again! 17. Mark On The Bus - 10/10 excellent! 18. Professor Booty - 8/10 funny and catchy. 19. In 3's - 10/10 the Beastie's 3rd best instrumental! 20. Namaste - 10/10 mysterious closing track.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on this album are some of the best lyrics the Beasties have produced. Although not as clever as 'To The 5 Boroughs' or as funny as 'Ill Communication', they are original and unique. The snottiness of the early albums is (more or less) gone, and some intelligence is shown. The rapping skills are unique: Adrock's snotty voice, Mike D's high voice and MCA's gruff voice are all totally different but work together uniquely.

Overall Impression — 10
This definately is one of the Beastie's best albums - probably joint first with 'Ill Communication'. Buy this album just to hear So What'cha Want, which is a breath taking 3minutes of hardcore beats. Truly phenomenal. If I lost it or it was stolen, I wouldn't need to buy it again as I have a back up copy!

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Gratitude is not the first hardcore song on a Beasties album. They release hardcore albums in the dawn of their career.