Infinity Land review by Biffy Clyro

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 3, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (33 votes)
Biffy Clyro: Infinity Land

Sound — 10
I think this review may be slightly biased because I'm in love with Biffy, but here goes anyway. You can't really catagorise Biffy, because they have their own sound, but 'screamo, post-hardcore, heavy metal-rock' will do. The Glaswegian trio (consisting of guitarist, bassist and drummer) use lots of little riffs, complex chords and time-signature changes to create catchy and emotional songs. Infinity Land is more co-ordinated and convential than their previous 2 albums (although some songs still sound like 5 melted together) and it is as Simon (lead singer/guitarist) put it: "A lot more pop than our previous work." This will be the result of 6 odd years of almost non-stop gigging and getting to really know the fans. It doesn't however (thankfully), lose the classic dark edge that their previous work has always had. The album was inspired by Jeffrey Dahmer, the notorious cannibal and serial killer and it features plenty of lyrical references (although not direct), more screaming and foreboding, heavy guitar sequences that add to create an emotional master-piece of each song. Although it does deal with death and somber emotions, it also has some very uplifting tracks (such as the phenomenal 'My Recovery Injection' which features a fantastic bass intro) and never manages to be distasteful or vulgar as many bands do. Biffy also experiment aplenty, with a dance intro (Glitter And Trauma), a male choir song (There's No Such Man As Crasp), a wander into death-metal land (The Kids Of Kibble And The Fist Of Light) and a soft, tender piano intro (The Atrocity). Plenty of tracks there too, and one for every mood and moment.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics are very cryptic and poetic and really lift the music above anything else in their genre. Coupled with the rest of the song, Si's voice adds emotion and power to the song able to create wildly different feelings. Definitely not the usual boring and unoriginal rock-vocals. The screaming may not be to everyone's taste, and may take some getting used to, but once you've familiarised yourself with it, it becomes an integral part of the song. The other band members provide backing vocals and are (suprisingly) all equally skilled. This adds to the superb streak of quality that runs through this album.

Overall Impression — 10
Needless to say, any Biffy fan will love this. It features a whole lot of explorations of new territory, which keeps it interesting and is whirled in with enough old touches to give it a warm, fuzzy, familiar feeling. Not for everyone, but worth giving a chance, this could be the start of a new love-affair with an unforgettable band.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date