Billy Talent review by Billy Talent

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 16, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (98 votes)
Billy Talent: Billy Talent

Sound — 8
The Debut album of Billy Talent is totally different to their following work Billy Talent II and Billy Talent III. This album features a defining angry, underground modern punk sound, the songs are emotional and hardcore. Ian D'sas' guitar track is really melodic in a few songs, especially 'Try Honesty' and 'Lies' although the guitar can sound similar in some songs. The drums have the same problem, but the bass varies greatly from song to song.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics in the album are very vague in most songs, this mean we don't get very interesting topical songs, but the music itself is enjoyable enough. The one song I cannot stand is 'The Ex' which is four minutes of cheesy spouting about a girl who dumped him, c'mon guys, you can do better than that. I really like the backing vocals in this album, they're not the best of the Billy Talent range but they are decent.

Overall Impression — 9
This album is commonly lost in the wave of emo/ harcore / modern rock, but i think it has a charm about it that seperates it out. Billy Talent is an ever changing band, and every album has a seemingly new genre and explores it well. This is the loudest of all the albums, with songs like 'Try Honesty' and 'Cut the Curtains'. The tunes are memorable and you will find yourself humming them after a few minutes. Without doubt, the best song in the album is 'Try honesty'. It was there breakout hit and still manages to be one of their best songs.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date